Potpourri Americana
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Potpourri Americana

I don't have a printer, so I print what I want to print here.
A collection of my personal bookmarks

HomeHome  Latest imagesLatest images  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Beading Bracelet Tip

Go down 
AuthorMessage
Astraea

Astraea

Number of posts : 2738
Favorite Quote : Beware the deadly donkey falling from the sky You may choose the way you live, my friend But not the way you die
Registration date : 2007-08-11

Beading Bracelet Tip Empty
PostSubject: Beading Bracelet Tip   Beading Bracelet Tip EmptyMon Nov 19, 2012 11:21 pm

http://www.modernminerals.com/beading-tips/542/

I learned two things in my class on Thursday. These may be pretty common place for some of you, but since I am just learning how to work with the seed beads they are new to me. I’m also pretty sure that they will be new to some of you as well.

To start with, the instructions said to wax the wax the Nymo or C-Lon thread. I of course asked why this is necessary. I was told that you want to wax the thread because sometimes the edges of the crystal beads are sharp. That makes sense to me, after all they are glass. After repeatedly pulling the thread through the crystal beads, the thread can start to fray. I imagine it is possible that it could also break. Tremaine recommended that if you want your piece to hold up over time, to use fireline. Fireline does not need to be waxed. So that is the first tip, if you are working with crystal beads, use Fireline.

The second tip has to do with constructing the bracelet. I think that this technique could be used in any pattern, if is it possible to work the design either direction.

I worked the bracelet from the center out, but I only used one length of thread.

The design called for 5 yards of thread.

That is a pretty long thread to work with.